As I have loved you, Love one another

John 13:34 ‘A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.’ As followers of Christ, We should accept and love one another. To Love one another… this seems like an easy task… how hard could it be? I mean, we love our friends and family, and we treat them well don’t we? We say hello to people we pass in the streets, we give service to those in need, we volunteer to bring dinner to the family next door… we love one another. and these are all great things. However, Do we love the person who we heard talk bad about us? Or the person who was rude to someone we love? Do we love the person who put us down because of something we believe in? Do we love the people who have done us wrong in this life? Mathew 5:43-44 reads: ‘ Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbor, and hate thine enemy. But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;” Now this, is a REALLY hard task. I know personally if someone is unkind towards me my first thought isn’t “wow I really love you.” In fact, almost immediately I want to snap right back. or go vent to a friend about how horrible that person was. But, how is talking bad about someone, or being rude in return going to make me a better person? In fact, it makes me worse than them. We should be forgiving and understanding. Christ was never unkind to anyone, he loved. He loved those who denied his teachings, He loved those who persecuted Him.  So who am I, an imperfect human, to judge or to be unkind towards someone who was unkind to me? Being like those who harm us doesn’t fix anything.  But this commandment, Love one another,  is SO important.  As a missionary, I will be representing Christ. I will literally wear his name on my badge everyday. But, as Christians, aren’t we always representing christ? With or without a badge we are always representing Christ.  ALWAYS representing Christ. At school, work, alone, church, and even when we are faced in difficult situations. That representation never leaves. We are his followers, and as followers of christ we are to strive to be like him. In ALL situations. President Monson taught; “love is the very essence of the gospel, and Jesus Christ is our Exemplar. His life was a legacy of love.” It’s not everyday that someone is bluntly rude to us. However, It is everyday that we are surrounded by people who may not have the same beliefs as us. Today I feel that this is a problem we are faced with all the time. How can we stay true to our beliefs, while accepting those who do not agree, or who may even put down our precious standards? Again, we are always representing Christ. We are always to Love one another. “as followers of Christ we should live peacefully with others who do not share our values or accept the teachings upon which they are based.” -Elder Dallin H Oaks. I have grown up in a unique situation, I have grown up in what I like to call a melting pot family.  In my family we have some who remain active in the church, others who don’t, I also have many non members. At times this can be a struggle for me. Because I wish to share what I know to be true with everyone. I want to share the happiness it brings to me. I have seen some of my family members struggle and feel excluded because of what the do, or do not believe. However, I do not believe that different religions is where the major differences come in. Sometimes its hardest when someone does not have the share same standards as us. We are expected to Love everyone, this means those who do not believe in what we believe. This doesn’t mean we have to act upon what they choose to act upon, or even agree with what they do. But we do need to be accepting, and loving. “We are to live IN the world, but not OF the world.” We can still stay true to our beliefs while living peacefully and lovingly with others who may not share the same standards. This doesn’t mean we have to stay in situations that we are uncomfortable with, but it does mean we shouldn’t argue with others about our beliefs against theirs, or judge them because they sin differently than us. We are all imperfect humans, trying to be the best we can be. Where their is contention, there is not the spirit.  In Elder Oaks talk, Loving others and living with differences he states “Even as we seek to be meek and to avoid contention, we must not compromise or dilute our commitment to the truths we understand. We must not surrender our positions or our values.” We can still be kind, loving and accepting all while staying true to our beliefs. But isn’t being kind and christlike part of our beliefs anyways? I know I would never want someone to treat me poorly because of my beliefs being different than theirs, so why should I be that way towards them? We should be loving and understanding in all we do, and with all who we come in contact with.  LOVE. Love thy neighbor, Love thyself, Love thy enemy, Love thy heavenly father. For as he has shown us unconditional love, let us love one another.

Leave a Reply

